School Board

Comsewogue School District 2017-2018
 Board Documents Goals for the YearSchool Board Policies
Board Honorees   Meeting Calendar

(Front row, seated, right to left: President John Swenning and 

Vice President Alexandra Gordon)

(Back Row, standing left to right:  Richard Rennard, Louise Melious, James Sanchez,

Francisca Alabau-Blatter and Robert DeStefano)



Comsewogue has a seven member Board of Education. The Board of Education is frequently the closest link between the community and the school aside from the pupils in the district. Board members are elected for three-year terms and serve without pay. All regularly scheduled board meetings are open to the public and it has always been the policy in Comsewogue to encourage attendance at these meetings. Comsewogue Board of Education meetings are held at the Norwood District Office Board Room on the first Monday of each month, starting at 8:00 p.m. The Board of Education sets school policies, approves the appointment of personnel, adopts budgets, approves courses of study and, in many instances, must be the final arbiter on many controversial issues. The Board and the Superintendent are concerned about an effective program of communication, keeping community informed to the point that understanding and confidence are engendered in the school program.

Board of Education
John Swenning, President


District Clerk

District Treasurer

Student Representative
Rachel Burton

School District Attorney
Lamb & Barnosky