2022 Hall of Fame Inductees

2022 Hall of Fame Inductees
Hall of Fame Inductees

On Saturday, October 15, 2022 during our annual Homecoming festivities, Comsewogue proudly inducted four new members into our Hall of Fame.

Tommy DeMartini graduated from Comsewogue High School in 1988 and played football from 1986 - 1988. Tommy received All-League honors and All-County Quarterback honors in 1987 and finished with an overall starting record of 13-3 during his time on the team. He also was a member of our Baseball team in 1987 and 1988, earning All-League honors in 1987, and three awards in 1988: All-County, League IV MVP and was named the Daily News All-Star.

Derrick Jones, a graduate in 1997, played on our football team for four years from 1993 - 1996. Derrick earned both All-Division honors and All-County honors for three consecutive years from 1994 - 1996, as well as All-State honors in his 1996 senior year. He was named the MVP of the County Championship game in 1996 and earned the prestigious honor of being named the New York State Gatorade Player of the Year in his senior year. Derrick earned a Football scholarship to play at the University of Maryland.

Jamie Smith, who graduated from Comsewogue in 1981, played both Football and Lacrosse from 1978 - 1981. During his time on the Lacrosse team, he earned All-League honors in 1980 and 1981 and All-County honors in 1981. Jamie received the Lt. Ray Enners Award for being named the best player in Suffolk County and was also named to the All-American Lacrosse team in 1981, his senior year. Jamie continued to play Lacrosse at the collegiate level, earning Lacrosse All-Ivy honors at Cornell University in 1985.

The 1988-1989 Boys Basketball Team was inducted as a whole. Ranked #2 on Long Island and #8 in New York State, the team was coached by Head Coach Frank Romeo and Assistant Coach Peter Meehan. The members of the team were Alex Gayer (captain), Rich Gaudi (captain), Matt Jens (captain), Joey Azzara, Andrew Carlson, Perry Pappas, Danny Robbins, Ed Romaine, Doug Salvador, Chris Schmidt, Matt Walsh and Andrew Wendol. With a 21-2 record, the team was crowned League IV Champions and went on to become the Suffolk County Large School Class A Champions. 

Congratulations to all of our Class of 2022 Hall of Fame inductees on a well-deserved honor. Once a Warrior, Always a Warrior!